Skip to content

Sonia

15.November.2009

I met her about five hours ago. I knew she’d probably be at the usual place, busy with a customer. I went to see her.

I sat down in the waiting area feeling relieved, because this time, the usual sight of a long line of men waiting for her to service them with her unmatched prowess wasn’t there. I was next and I couldn’t wait.

Finally, my turn came. She motioned for me to come closer. I quickly followed her while in my head, I was thinking:

This woman is amazing. She only needs a few minutes to rest and catch her breath.

Her name is Sonia, and she was her usual self today: she only needed a couple of words from me, and she did what she was told. No questions asked.

Sonia is a pro. Once you’ve given your instructions, she would immediately proceed to follow them to the letter.

Sonia worked her hands, slowly at first. But once she got her rhythm, her hands worked with such agility and fluidity it mesmerized me. I have never seen her do that before. When we made eye contact, I gave her a nod of approval, which signaled that she should continue what she was doing.

When the deed was done, I stood up and faced her, asked her how much, and after her meek reply, I paid her the amount due—plus a well-deserved tip.

I left Sonia without saying so much as a thank you. I didn’t even look at her when I handed her the payment for services rendered. Maybe next time, I’ll try to be nicer.

Because I’m perfectly sure: I’ll be back to see Sonia the next time I feel the need, the itch, the want…to get a haircut.

* * * * * * * * *

Random Thoughts

PACQUIAO vs. COTTO

Cotto vs. Pacquiao (Credit: MARK RALSTON/AFP/Getty Images)

—At long last, Manny Pacquiao has proven his versatility. After beating Miguel Cotto via Technical Knock Out, he has finally proven to the entire world that in the realm of boxing, we have not seen anyone like him in the past, and we probably wont see anyone like him in the future. He is a great among greats, having risen to the top, that is, capturing the World Championship, of seven, count that, seven weight divisions. Even Muhammad Ali wasn’t able to do that during his time, though he did dominate two weight classes, which was unheard of during those days. A million congratulations and approximately twenty million US Dollars to Pacman (I hope Coach Roach gets his fair share of the pot).

Wade's Game Winner Against the New Jersey Nets (Credit: NBA.com)

—Dwyane Wade of the Miami Heat is a phenomenal baskteball player. Especially considering his game-winning three-point shot against the New Jersey Nets during their last game. NBA commentators should consider changing his nickname from The Flash to The Closer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

